At long last a kaftan

Standard

A while ago my mother in law asked if I would make her a kaftan. I said yes not having the foggiest idea how. She loves that deep cranberry/wine red colour and wanted something like that. A couple of weeks later The Fabric Warehouse had a pop up sale but the sewing gods were not smiling that day for red so I went a little crazy buying up kaftan options. I’ve kind of figured out with my in laws that if I think it’s hideous they’ll probably love it (and vice versa). Some others from the WSBN were there also buying up large and there were more than a few funny looks as I bought up great lengths of some really ugly knit fabrics in purples and pinks and exclaimed in delight at how hideous I thought they were.

The fabric bags were stashed away and realisation dawned that I truly had no idea how to go about making a kaftan without making it look like a large sack but then the sewing gods decided to smile after all and a vintage kaftan pattern wandered into my hands.

IMG_3278“Woohoo! I don’t have to try and figure out how to do this!” my mind was screaming as I politely said thank you and immediately flipped it over to the line drawing. I decided on View A which is the pink version.

IMG_3279Turns out it’s pretty much rectangles as I was thinking, but the pattern included a neck facing and craftily two big fish eye darts at the front with a hole in the middle of each to pass a belt through to tie neatly at the front. The darts and waist tie mean the front is cinched closer to the body which helps avoid potato sack likeness.

IMG_2926

Clever shaping darts

The knit fabric while not something I would normally buy print/colour wise had the most wonderful weighty drape and was lovely to work with. It’s completely synthetic but the nice synthetic. I thought the neckline looked a little boring and as I’m still having fun learning all the new stitches on my fabulous new machine I decided to go fancy with some flowers.

IMG_2925

Hehehe flowers make me happy, so love my new machine.

The MiL loves the kaftan and really likes the fabric and colour – whew! And the rest of the fabric options? Some I’ve kept for muslins but the others got donated and are out there somewhere lurking in a charity shop – possibly near you!

IMG_2924

No picture on a real body sorry, but as it was finished there was no danger of Custard the Dress form of Doom and her evil ways.

Leave a Reply

